Visit us on Facebook!
Club History


Organized in 1975, it was in January 1976 that the Manotick Classic Boat Club (MCBC) officially came into existence. None of the founding members could possibly have imagined to what proportions the movement would grow. Antique and classic boating has come into its own in North America. Fine watercraft built by past generations of boat builders are being ferreted out of old boathouses, barns and garages, and are being restored by loving hands to their former glory.

The Manotick club is devoted to the restoration and preservation of antique and classic boats, which are representative of an era in boating that was refined and genteel, as well as exciting, fast and challenging. This is a hobby for true enthusiasts only. Classic boaters are absolute purists when it comes to originality and authenticity. No effort or expense is too great to achieve the standards of perfection necessary.

At first, MCBC was for the most part a social group for people who had some interest in early wooden boats. As the boat owners gained experience their activities gained momentum. They shared their knowledge generously and went about gathering more. Original wood finishing methods and authentic outfitting became the hallmark of boats owned by club members.

By a remarkable coincidence, at about the same time that this was happening at Manotick, a group was getting together at Lake George, New York. They adopted as their name “The Antique and Classic Boat Society Inc.” (ACBS) and went on to establish themselves as an international organization. The Manotick Classic Boat Club was the first Canadian chapter of ACBS, and ACBS has grown to 53 chapters with over 13,000 members throughout North America and Europe. Manotick was also instrumental in bringing the ACBS Toronto in as the second Canadian chapter. Indeed, for a short time, Toronto and Manotick shared the MCBC newsletter, The Brass Binnacle. Toronto has since grown to be one of the largest clubs in North America.

James C. Potter of Manotick was the MCBC’s first president, the following is a list of all our Presidents:

Name Year
Randy McKendry 2021
Randy McKendry 2020
Randy McKendry 2019
Andreas Reissmann 2018
Carman Keyes 2017
Carman Keyes 2016
Carman Keyes 2015
Ray Saunders 2014
Ray Saunders 2013
Rich Vickers 2012
Judy Saunders 2011
Dinah Scholfield 2010
Ron Jelley 2009
Ron Jelley 2008
Barron Meyerhoffer 2007
Jean-Francois Milotte 2006
Dave Tilley 2005
Jack Hughes 2004
Heather Phelan 2003
Nancy Taylor 2002
Martin Luce 2001
Martin Luce 2000
Dave Havelock 1999
Don Logan 1998
Don Logan 1997
Ron Dulmage 1996
Ian Wyllie 1995
Nancy Taylor 1994
David Burns 1993
David Burns 1992
Nancy Porter 1991
Graeme Beattie 1990
Marlene Thomas 1989
Alan Macleod 1988
Alan Macleod 1987
Mary Herwig 1986
Sydney Herwig 1985
Sydney Herwig 1984
Sydney Herwig 1983
Frank Phelan 1982
Edgar Hendee 1981
Edgar Hendee 1980
Edgar Hendee 1979
Linda Potter 1978
James C. Potter 1977
James C. Potter 1976


Since 1984, the Club has recognized those who have provided Considerable support to the Manotick Classic Boat Club through the award of the President’s Cup. The following individuals have been so honored:


Name Year
Not Presented 2021
Not Presented 2020
Susan Richardson 2019
Carman Keyes 2018
Carol Ann Arsenault 2017
Bill Young 2016
Jean Beveridge 2015
Dave Tilley & Ian Wyllie 2014
Rich Vickers 2013
Judy Saunders 2012
Dinah Scholfield 2011
Ray Saunders 2010
Richard Macleod 2009
John & Susan Richardson 2008
Dave Tilley 2007
Jack Hughes 2006
Heather Phelan 2005
Ron & Wilma Jelley 2004
Parks Canada 2003
Martin Luce 2002
John & Gaye Spencer 2001
Donald Loken 2000
Nancy Taylor 1999
Ron Dulmage 1998
Ian Wyllie 1997
Stephen Fox 1996
Alan Macleod 1995
Nancy Porter 1994
Murray Gould 1993
Mary Herwig 1992
Don Thomas 1991
Linda Potter 1990
Frank Phelan 1989
Sydney Herwig 1988
Dianne Elliott 1987
James Potter 1986
Marlene Thomas 1985
Sarah Gould 1984


Over the years, the Ottawa International Antique & Classic Boat Show has been a central focus for the Club. The Show has moved around the Rideau Valley over the years as the following list will attest:


Year Location Show Chair(s)
2021 Cancelled – Covid-19 Show not held
2020 Cancelled – Covid-19 Show not held
2019 Rideau Ferry Dawn McKendry
2018 Westport Chris Lucas
2017 Westport Chris Lucas
2016 Rideau Ferry Chris Lucas
2015 Show not held
2014 Rideau Ferry Ian Wyllie & Dave Tilley
2013 Long Island Lock Manotick Ray Saunders
2012 Long Island Lock Manotick Ray Saunders
2011 Long Island Lock Manotick Ray Saunders
2010 Long Island Lock Manotick Ray Saunders
2009 Long Island Lock Manotick Ray Saunders
2008 Long Island Lock Manotick Ron Jelley & Dave Tilley
2007 Long Island Lock Manotick Frank Phelan
2006 Long Island Lock Manotick Andrew MacLaurin & Barron Meyerhoffer
2005 Long Island Lock Manotick Dave Tilley
2004 Long Island Lock Manotick Dave Tilley
2003 Manotick Marina Manotick Dave Tilley & Ian Wyllie
2002 Aylings Merrickville Ron Jelley
2001 Westport Heather Phelan
2000 Hurst Marina Manotick Don Thomas, Frank Phelan & Ian Wyllie
1999 Westport Martin Luce
1998 Westport Ian Wyllie
1997 Dows Lake Nancy Taylor
1996 Westport Don Loken
1995 Merrickville Nancy Taylor & Frank Phelan
1994 Westport Ian Wyllie
1993 Westport Graeme Beattie
1992 Dows Lake Murray Gould & Cam Graham
1991 Westport Brian Kirk & David Burns
1990 Portland Al Macleod & David Scholfield
1989 Dows Lake Frank Phelan
1988 Rideau Ferry Graeme Beattie & Mel Evans
1987 Dows Lake Syd Herwig
1986 Dows Lake Syd Herwig & Murray Gould
1985 Rideau Ferry Murray Gould
1984 Perth Don Thomas & Murray Gould
1983 Rideau Ferry Murray Gould
1982 Rideau Ferry Frank Phelan, Peter Elliot, Murray Gould & Robert Merkley
1981 Rideau Ferry Murray Gould & Ed Hendee
1980 Rideau Ferry Murray Gould
1979 Dows Lake Kent Martin, Robert Merkley, Barbara Hopper & Frank Phelan
1978 Dows Lake Howard Poole, Kent Martin & Robert Merkley
1977 Dows Lake Peter Elliot
1976 Dows Lake Peter Elliot & Cam Graham

Our Club continues to focus on the enjoyment of antique and classic boats through restoration and through operating these treasures on the water. The only membership requirement is an interest in old boats.

Texas Web Design